intoxicate

American upper-middle-class culture (where the opportunities are) is now laced with cultural signifiers that are completely illegible unless you happen to have grown up in this class. They play on the normal human fear of humiliation and exclusion. Their chief message is, “You are not welcome here.”

The educated class has built an ever more intricate net to cradle us in and ease everyone else out. It’s not really the prices that ensure 80 percent of your co-shoppers at Whole Foods are, comfortingly, also college grads; it’s the cultural codes.

–David Brooks ‘How we are ruining America‘ The New York Times

 

The first step involved seeing lots of movies; secondly, I began to note the name of the director as I left the theater. In the third stage I saw the same films over and over and began making choices as to what I would have done, if I had been the director. At that period of my life, movies acted on me like a drug.

Sometimes I saw the same film four or five times within a month and could still not recount the story line correctly because, at one moment or another, the swelling of the music, a chase through the night, the actress’s tears, would intoxicate me, make me lose track of what was going on, carry me away from the rest of the movie.

A lovely time of life — when one cares more about the fate of those we admire than about one’s own. More than two decades later, I still love movies, but no film can occupy my mind more than the one I’m writing, preparing, shooting, editing. I’ve lost the film-lover’s generosity, so arrogant and overwhelming that at times it can fill one with embarrassment and confusion.

-François Truffaut The Films in My Life

Leave a Reply

