wait

You hiked the PCT in the summer of 1995, but you didn’t write about your hike until many years later. Why did you wait so long?

I didn’t wait. I wrote Wild as soon as it occurred to me to do so. Wild is not in the “I did an interesting thing so I wrote a book about it” genre. It’s a literary memoir. I didn’t write Wild because I took a hike; I wrote Wild because I’m a writer. By which I mean until I had something to say about the experience, I didn’t have any reason to write about it. After I completed my hike on the PCT the story I most urgently had to tell was the one I told in my first book, Torch. It was published in 2006. In 2008, I began to write about my experience on the PCT and I realized I wanted to write a book about it.
– Cheryl Strayed FAQ
Leave a Reply

