Spanish violin virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate (1844–1908),the late-Romantic era’s Paganini, gave his one and only New York Philharmonic performance in February 1872, in the U.S. Premiere of a concerto that the New York Herald predicted would “rank beside Mendelssohn’s celebrated work for the same instrument.” The piece was Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1, now one of the cornerstones of the violin repertoire.

The history in this program‘ The New York Philharmonic


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s