involved

Was it a challenge to tackle subject matter so close to your heart?

I think that when one makes a movie, he makes a movie and that’s it. He is not involved directly in the issue, even when the issue touches him personally. When I write, I think about the writing. When I shoot, I think about the shooting, and when I edit, I think about the editing. This is my job and I don’t allow myself to get involved with the issue, even though it’s very painful. This is what I think, but maybe I’m mistaken. Maybe it is inevitable to be emotionally involved.

-Mekado Murphy ‘Five questions for Nanni Moretti‘ The New York Times

Leave a Reply

