‘You’d better get it right’

I love being a reporter. But the thing I didn’t like was you were always having to write when you still had more questions in your mind. I remember that feeling.

You have to say, when I was a reporter, there weren’t recording devices. A lot of old reporters had a shorthand. I can get every word of an interview.

OK so what has that sort of authorial power revealed about you? Well, I’d better get it right! [Laughs] You do feel, you know, you’d better get it right. I do feel that.

Robert Caro interview with Christopher Robbins for Gothamist

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

