‘There is no laughter’

I am no woman-hater, believe me, not at all in my stories, almost all of the male characters are caricatures; and so are the rare female personages. And it is precisely because I am very reluctant to depict a female in a comical guise that I present so few ‘real’ women in my stories.

When a man stumbles and sprawls on the street people tend to laugh at the sight, when a woman falls, there is no laughter.

It is one of the reasons why one should refrain from using too many female characters in stories that depict people in a ridiculous light.

Herge

Leave a Reply

