The things you do

Reflecting on her career in a 2009 interview with Vogue, Ms. Graziani tried to put her finger on that je ne sais quoi that had made her the model she was.

“I think, in retrospect, I had a different style,” she said. “Because I can’t say I was the most beautiful. It’s not a question of beauty. You have to have a personality.”

– Margalit Fox ‘Bettina Graziani Dies at 89; Supermodel of Fashion’s ‘New Look’‘ The New York Times 

I wish I could say that I had taken a job at DailyMail.com as part of a grand scheme to infiltrate the publication and expose all of its dirty laundry. The truth is far less glamorous: I needed a job, and the Mail was offering a reasonable amount of money to do relatively mindless work.

In January of last year, I was summoned to the offices of the New York Post. In theory, I was there for a job interview, but it didn’t take long for it to become humiliatingly clear that the Post wasn’t interested in hiring me. It was interested in mining for information about the Mail’s business model.

– James King ‘My year ripping off the web with the Daily Mail OnlineGawker

If you have received a ministry from the Lord Jesus, you will know that the need is not the same as the call— the need is the opportunity to exercise the call. The call is to be faithful to the ministry you received when you were in true fellowship with Him. This does not imply that there is a whole series of differing ministries marked out for you. It does mean that you must be sensitive to what God has called you to do, and this may sometimes require ignoring demands for service in other areas.

– Oswald Chambers My Utmost for His Highest

Leave a Reply

